Warren Spahn Award

The Warren Spahn Award honors Oklahoman and National Baseball Hall of Famer, Warren Spahn. Spahn holds the Major League Baseball record of 363 wins as a left-handed pitcher making him the winningest left-handed pitcher in Major League Baseball history. He pitched for 21 years in the major leagues after serving his country with distinction in World War II.

Spahn is considered to be one of the most “enduring great” pitchers in Major League Baseball history. He won 21 games in 1947, when he was 26 years old and he won 23 games in 1963 when he was 42. Spahn had 20 or more wins in 13 seasons, including six in a row. He also had eight seasons of leading the majors in victories and nine seasons of leading the league in complete games. He pitched his first no-hitter at the age of 39 and his second no-hitter at the age of 40. Spahn was inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame in 1973 and Oklahoma Hall of Fame in 1988.

The Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame Museum created the Warren Spahn Award, which is embodied in a bronze trophy modeled after Spahn’s famous high kicking windup. The award is presented annually to the best left-handed pitcher in Major League Baseball.

The winner is determined based on a pitcher’s wins, strikeouts and earned run average. The Spahn family and event sponsors present the award annually at the Warren Spahn Award Gala in Oklahoma City.

The 2010 recipient of the Warren Spahn Award is David Price. The number one overall pick in the 2007 Major League Baseball Draft, Price has lived up to expectations and has emerged as one of the premier pitchers in professional baseball in just his first full season in the majors. He is only the third rookie to record a win and a save in the postseason, pitching in both the ALCS and the World Series.

In this year's All Star Game, Price was the youngest lefty to start for the American League since Lefty Gomez in 1933. He finished the regular season second in wins (19) to last years Warren Spahn Award winner CC Sabathia (21) and third in ERA (2.72) for the American League. Price becomes the sixth pitcher to win the Warren Spahn Award.

Past Spahn Award winners include: CC Sabathia (2007–2009); Johan Santana (2004, 2006); Dontrelle Willis (2005); Andy Pettitte (2003); and Randy Johnson (1999–2002).