Bill Teegins Excellence in Sportscasting Award

The Bill Teegins Excellence in Sportscasting Award is presented to honor Bill Teegins, the former play-by-play announcer for the Oklahoma State University Men’s Basketball team. Teegins volunteered as master of ceremonies for the 2000 Warren Spahn Award banquet, a week before the plane crash that took his life. It was the last public appearance for the eight-time Oklahoma Sportscaster of the Year.

Teegins donated many hours to the Oklahoma sports community as a volunteer and was inducted posthumously into the Oklahoma Association of Broadcasters Hall of Fame in 2002. A classic microphone symbolizes and honors sportscasters with Oklahoma ties who portray Teegins’ excellent broadcasting qualities. The award is presented annually at the Warren Spahn Award Gala.

Former winners of the award include John Brooks, Ross Porter, Bill Mercer, John Rooney, Bob Carpenter, Joe Simpson, Bob Barry Sr., Bobby Murcer and Curt Gowdy.